Texas Association for Court Administration
A Professional Association | Founded 1976
Member of the Year
Member of the Year Award recommendation consists of 3 nominees to the Board of Directors by the Membership Chair & Membership Liaison by August 15th of the year. The nominee must have provided outstanding assistance to the Association over the past year. The Board votes on the Member of the year and the plaque is presented at the Annual Conference at the luncheon.

The 2017 Member of the Year Award went to
Kachelle Johnson

The 2017 Honorary Member of the Year Award went to
Ed Wells


Honorary Members

Wayne Bowling
James C. Dunlap
Hon. Paul Ferguson
Dr. Charles M. Friel
Hon. Larry J. Gist
Hon. Robert T. Pfeuffer
Bill Willis
Ernie Davis
Hon. Linda B. Thomas
Hon. James B. Zimmerman
Debra Coffey
Vanessa R. Farmer
Martin Allen
Bob Wessels
Monique Holman
Ed Wells

The Justice Charles W. Barrow Award

This award was established in honor of the Honorable Charles W. Barrow, Senior Judge, Bexar County, who served as Justice on the Supreme Court of Texas 1977-1984. He also served as Chief Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals, 1962- 1977; and as Judge of the 45th District Court,1959-1962. Justice Barrow is one of TACA's biggest supporters since its inception and has lent support, advice and credibility to the association. The award recognizes one "for his/her extraordinary contributions in promoting court administration in Texas."

This award has no monetary value. However, it is considered one of the highest coveted awards given annually to a TACA member, in that it recognizes the "high standards of excellence" exhibited in all endeavors of the recipient.

Those wishing to nominate someone for this award should submit not only the nominee's name and current position but also, set out the contributions made in court administration and the reasons this individual merits recognition.

Any TACA member, in good standing, who has contributed significantly in promoting Court Administration and met the following criteria:
  • Nominee must have provided outstanding assistance to the overall Court Administration effort;
  • Nominee must exhibit sustained dedication to Court Administration activities, generally;
  • Nominee should have participated actively in promoting Court Administration.
Nomination Form